Number 19

Visit an Island in Scotland

The main reason for including this one on my list is that despite living the majority of my life in Scotland, I’ve been to a shamefully small number of our islands.

My mum is from the Isle of Arran and I spent eternal summers there when I was growing up, and we return (descend) every year without fail. It remains one of my favourite places in the world.

I chose to visit the Isle of Bute because my mum went to school in Rothesay as there was no secondary school on Arran when she went to high school. I had never been to the island before so it made sense to visit somewhere that had some significance.

Despite the awful weather, G and I had a good time. We explored the island, had lunch, walked around Rothesay and had a good nosey. Christmas presents were purchased and many dogs were seen – a generally good day!

I decided to do something a little different with this particular item on the list, and Vlogged our trip (A vlog is basically a video diary, a video blog of a day, experience, trip etc.,). I have never really vlogged before and it was quite a surreal experience, but oddly enjoyable. The weirdest part is hearing your own voice coming back at you during editing – I sincerely apologise to every person I have ever met for my voice/accent/laugh!

To view the Vlog, jump over to my Youtube channel

 

Leave a comment